Who’s the king of the castle?

Before our week was up in Peñíscola, Spain, we took a day trip to explore the historic walled city of Morella, about 70km inland.

After a scenic winding drive we hiked uphill under the hot Spanish sun to the top of Morella castle, perched 1072m above sea level.

The panoramic views of the harsh landscape is no doubt the very reason that this spot was fought for time and again over the centuries. There was definitely a feeling of “I’m the king of the castle” and the history of battles to claim this vantage point – strategically located between Aragon and Valencia – raged in my imagination.

I guess that’s the thing that strikes me when travelling in Europe – the evidence of a long and colourful history – which is such a contrast to Australia, so young in comparison. And when you visit these places for yourself you can almost feel that history.

Hopefully these photos will convey some sense of that.

About frenchfry36

South African by birth, British by right, Australian by oath, French by choice.
This entry was posted in Travel, World travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Who’s the king of the castle?

  1. Debra Kolkka says:

    I love that these incredible buildings survive.

  2. You got some wonderful shots! The U.S, is a baby too compared to Europe. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to travel somewhere with such a deep history. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Denise says:

    Nola, your pics are wonderful, and your post says it all. We live in Canada, and like Oz, and the USA, we are mere babies to the rich history that the countries of Europe, and many other countries as well, that have to offer us travelling minstrals. My husband and I have only scratched the surface of Europe, travelling a couple of times to Ireland, Portugal and Spain. France and Italy are on our list. One day sooner, than later.

    • frenchfry36 says:

      Thank you Denise… So much to see, so little time (and money!) we just appreciate every place we are privileged to travel to and I love sharing our experiences through words and photography.

  4. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  5. Pingback: Stepping into Spain to cruise the Mediterranean | A house in France

  6. Pingback: From coast to coast | A house in France

Leave a comment