Accidental colour matching

I was chatting to someone the other day about the difficulties in choosing paint colours, and remembered our own accidental colour matching episode in France…

I had decided to make a start on the main hallway on the guest floor and stripped the wallpaper (very happy to discover only one layer, though it did take a bit of work to scrape off).

Then once it was scrubbed, plastered, sanded, and undercoated (sounds so easy doesn’t it!?)…

I was anxious to finish the job so we headed up to a local hardware store for the topcoat.

Now I don’t remember why I decided we just had to buy the paint right then and there, with only a few minutes left before they closed for lunch (yes, we still get caught out with that traditional middle-of-the-day-closure) but I did.

I had done a little pre-planning:  deciding that a colour, rather that the white we had predominantly used on this floor, would be good for both contrast and serviceability, and had picked up a few paint swatches of earthy colours on our travels – but not from this particular hardware store, so they weren’t entirely helpful. I was also conscious of not wanting to spend too much (I fail to see why standard wall paint is so expensive!) because when we have that floor re-wired in the next year or two we will probably have to re-paint.

So with all that in mind, and time ticking by, we quickly whittled our choices down to a final two contenders – one too grey and the other too caramel. I went for the caramel.

Maybe unconsciously I had the existing woodwork colour in my head, but once I started painting, I realised just how close this colour was to that!

It looked better once I painted the woodwork white, the contrast setting off the caramel.

Unfortunately we had run out of the exterior-grade woodwork paint that we had been using up to that point (used the last of it covering the lilac woodwork in the little adjoining hallway) and I had opted for a low-end brand for “Boiseries.” I paid for that choice in time and effort rather than money when I had to paint extra coats to gain an acceptable coverage. With 6 doors to paint as well it was a decision I came to regret! No wonder builders love open plan houses.

It was rather funny that half-way through the job the colouring was the exact opposite of the end result (as you can see from these progressive shots).

As it happens, the accidental colour matching means that the balcony doorway (which we will tackle when we renovate the stairwell next trip) blends in seamlessly.

And as much as I love purple, I am very glad to no longer have lilac woodwork in the house!

So the guest floor is, for all intents and purposes, “done!”

About frenchfry36

South African by birth, British by right, Australian by oath, French by choice.
This entry was posted in France, Living in France, Renovating in France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Accidental colour matching

  1. Denise says:

    Choosing paint colours is always a stress. Enjoyed your evolution of renovation. Very satisfying to see the finished product.

  2. I hate choosing paint colors too. It turned out well for you, though. The hallway looks great. I love the before and after shots.

Leave a Reply

