Memories of Malta

In June last year we spent a week in Malta, and it has taken me this long to weed through the copious photos taken.

I guess we got a little carried away in trying to capture the flavour, history and the natural beauty of Malta and neighbouring islands, and vow to be a little more selective in the photos taken, and more importantly, the photos saved, in future. My poor laptop groans under the virtual weight of 30,000 accumulated photos.

As I’ve blogged about the marvellous melting pot of Malta before, this time I’ll simply let a very small selection from the all-important photos do the talking:

Cafes opposite St John Co Cathedral

Cafes opposite St John Co Cathedral

Cruising the Grand Harbour

Cruising the Grand Harbour

Typical enclosed wooden balconies

Typical enclosed wooden balconies

Upper Barrakka Gardens

Upper Barrakka Gardens

The Saluting Battery - Upper Barrakka Gardens

The Saluting Battery

Sliema

Sliema

Spinola Bay

Spinola Bay

Marsaxlokk

Marsaxlokk

Vittoriosa

Vittoriosa

Maltese lunch with a glass of Kinnie

Maltese lunch with a glass of Kinnie

St Paul's Grotto and Catacombs

St Paul’s Grotto and Catacombs

The walk down to Hagar Qim and Mnajdra temples

The walk down to Hagar Qim and Mnajdra temples

Ruins of temples older than the pyramids

Ruins of temples older than the pyramids

Prickly Pear

Prickly Pear

Comino, Gozo and caves cruise

Comino, Gozo and caves cruise

Smugglers Cave

Smugglers Cave

St Paul's Island

St Paul’s Island

Comino

The island of Comino

Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon, Comino

Elephants Head Rock

Elephants Head Rock, Comino

The island of Gozo

The island of Gozo

Makes me want to go back!

About frenchfry36

South African by birth, British by right, Australian by oath, French by choice.
This entry was posted in Travel, World travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Memories of Malta

  1. lesvoyagesdumonde says:

    I am nominating you for a One Lovely Blog Award, to check out what to do to accept the award, click here: http://lesvoyagesdumonde.wordpress.com/2014/11/03/52/

    • frenchfry36 says:

      Thank you so much! But I’m not sure if I am allowed to accept this award a second time… I will have to do some research. The nomination is certainly appreciated 🙂

  2. Steven says:

    I have a hard time sorting photos too.. I usually shot betwen 500 -1000 when ever I go anywhere..lol The trouble with that is “weeding them out” to get a few really nice ones..

  3. Patricia Crawford says:

    Hi Frenchfry. First of all, I love your blog. I just happened upon it yesterday looking at homes on the internet. I was wondering if you could help me. We too are interested in real estate in Argenton sur Creuse. My French is so-so therefore I would like a real estate agent that speaks a little bit of English. Together with my inadequate French and their so-so English, I just may find my dream vacation home. Do you know an English speaking estate agent? Thank you! Sincerely, Patricia Crawford, New York, NY, USA

    • frenchfry36 says:

      Unfortunately the estate agent we bought through has since closed, and a new English speaking agency didn’t last long. But if you can wait about a month we can check out the current situation and let you know!

      • Patricia Crawford says:

        Hello. I hope you’re enjoying your holiday! You may have forgotten and I can honestly say I wouldn’t blame you, but did you get a chance to see if the local real estate agent spoke English? I do not want you to go out of your way at all. I figured if you were passing by one day, just stick your head in the door and maybe ask. No biggie. Some day, when we too will be there vacationing, I am taking you out for a bite! thank you.

      • frenchfry36 says:

        Hi Patricia – I did reply via another post: Agence Blancoise http://www.agenceblancoise.com – one agent admits to speaking a little English. But we all know that money talks! When I get a chance I will post some pics of houses for sale around town.
        Happy house hunting – and happy new year!

  4. Patricia Crawford says:

    That would be great. Thank you!!

  5. Patricia Crawford says:

    merci beaucoup!

Leave a Reply

