A few photos

“Show me photos of your house in France” people say, and I smile (though inwardly cringing as I think of the 25,000 photos sitting on my laptop, snapped over the last 5 years, waiting patiently to be properly edited, tagged and rated, and even – if I ever get that far – put into virtual albums to quickly be able to share as a short but representative slide show of whatever aspect they are interested in).

So it is my ongoing (slightly onerous but nevertheless enjoyable) task to manage this mountain of megapixels.

It’s not that I haven’t tried up until now – oh I have – but it’s just too easy to get distracted, caught up in re-living the happy memories of our renovations, world travel and family get-togethers back in Australia. And if I dare start playing with editing tools… well I swear time goes by at an accelerated rate.

I guess it’s no wonder it takes me so long to find just the right photos for my blog posts! But here are a few “befores” and “afters” of our renovations to what we affectionately call “the guest floor”: the self-contained first floor of our stone townhouse in Argenton-sur-Creuse, which is always ready and waiting for friends, family, and now, (even though we haven’t quite finished the entire house renovations) houseswappers from across the globe…

The kitchen:

Kitchen before  Renovated kitchen

Living room:

Living room before  Renovated living room

Main bedroom:

Main bedroom before  Renovated main bedroom

Second bedroom:

First floor Bedrrom 2    Renovated small bedroom

Shower room:

Shower room before  Renovated shower room

And separate toilet:

Toilet before  Renovated toilet

We’re pretty proud of our efforts and love being able to share our little corner of France with others.

About frenchfry36

South African by birth, British by right, Australian by oath, French by choice.
This entry was posted in France, Renovating in France, Travel in France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A few photos

  1. Debra Kolkka says:

    What a great job you have done. You should be very pleased with yourselves.

  2. denisedhall says:

    Nola, what a lovely home you have, and love the location. You can surely give yourselves a much deserved pat on the back. And, I also know what you mean about pictures. That is a huge undertaking for me, but also a hobby that I love. In regard to slideshows… Have you tried Smilebox? Very user friendly. I am currently working on a slide show for a photography group I am in… But, it does consume alot of time, but enjoyable time at best. And, don’t forget about house swapping with us, one of these days.

    • frenchfry36 says:

      While I am a little out of control with my photos, at least they are only virtual clutter, and it’s such fun to sift through when I do get the time. (I have a good program, it’s just time that’s the issue!) And a definite yes to houseswapping at some stage 🙂

Leave a Reply

