Baking Biscuits Bretons

What better way to use up 3 lonely egg yolks calling out to me from the fridge on a cold and miserable Melbourne afternoon than to do a little baking….

So – also wanting to use up some President “La Motte” (French butter with sea salt flakes) – I googled “recipe biscuits salted butter flour egg yolks” and up came a selection, including a couple for “Brittany Butter Biscuits”. Very French as it turns out – “Biscuits Bretons” originate from Brittany in France. Perfect.

I halved the quantities, and followed this recipe, not even sure how they were meant to turn out.

http://www.cakes-cookies.com/recipes/biscuits-cookies/brittany-butter-biscuits.php

I  chose to flatten the dough out between 2 sheets of baking paper, and because the thickness and size of the biscuits seemed rather large to me, and not having a cookie cutter at hand anyway, first I used ye-olde vegemite glass as a cutter, but had a lot of trouble getting the excess dough out from between them, so ended up just rolling small balls of dough between my palms before placing on the baking paper and gently flattening.

Pretty happy with the result, and Tony will be lucky if there are any left by the time he gets home!

About frenchfry36

South African by birth, British by right, Australian by oath, French by choice.
This entry was posted in Cooking, France and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baking Biscuits Bretons

  1. Denise says:

    Reminds me abit of the biscuits my Grandmother and then my mother made. I dont bake that often, would much rather cook up a storm. But, will try these. As they look delish.

  2. Susan says:

    Yum Nola!! how fabulous. so pleased to continue reading your blog now you’re back.

Leave a Reply

