What was lost is found

Now how many of you girls (or is that being sexist??) have lost an earring, and kept the remaining one for years on end hoping the pair would magically turn up?

Well a funny thing happened the other day – our washing machine stopped and displayed an error message and would not restart no matter what buttons we pressed or how we turned the dial (wait – I haven’t got the funny part yet!)

This was the washing machine we had shipped across from Australia to France and the instruction book was long gone. So while I searched the net to find information and instructions on how to fix the problem, (don’t you love how you can find absolutely anything on the internet?) Mr Fixit jumped straight into it and was already on his hands and knees draining the machine.

Then, by opening the drain access, we could remove whatever was obstructing the works… and lo and behold, along with a tile spacer (the final straw I guess), was a gold earring that I had “lost” literally years ago – in Australia!

Yay! I really hope I really did keep the pair to it… I’ll just have to check my collection of lonely earrings when we get back.

About frenchfry36

South African by birth, British by right, Australian by oath, French by choice.
This entry was posted in France, Living in France, Renovating in France and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What was lost is found

  1. I probably have a dozen single earrings in my jewelry box and am convinced that as soon as I get rid of them, I will find their mates. (Somehow, I doubt I’ll find any of mine on a different continent though. Fun story.)

  2. frenchfry36 says:

    I had planned to “cash in” all my bits and pieces of odd and broken gold jewellery before we left Australia… so glad I didn’t get around to it!!

Leave a Reply

