Is this your ring?

Paris is an undeniably beautiful city, but not all its inhabitants are beautiful souls.

I realise everyone needs to make money and I know not all countries have as good a welfare system as Australia – but the con artists in Paris quickly become irritating – you’d think they would at least come up with a new idea.

I guess with literally millions of tourists their strike rate doesn’t have to be very high.

There is the one where they “find” a (fake) gold ring, ask if it’s yours, and when of course it’s not they offer it to you as a gift… with a price tag of “money for lunch.” They certainly didn’t take kindly to me when, tired of this game, I called out to the unsuspecting they were approaching “it’s a con!!!”

The artists in Montmatre aren’t far behind, offering to sketch your portrait “no obligation”… except the emotional blackmail when they finish.

At least the “gorillas” offering to take a photo of you in front of the Eiffel Tower make you smile.

Forwarned is forearmed, so don’t let anything spoil your enjoyment of this gorgeous city.

About frenchfry36

South African by birth, British by right, Australian by oath, French by choice.
This entry was posted in France, Living in France, Travel, Travel in France and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is this your ring?

  1. travelingmad says:

    As soon as I read the title of this post I laughed. I have experienced it many times myself! It is very unoriginal.
    This was a good post and nice photos. I love the one of Sacre Coeur.

  2. frenchfry36 says:

    Thanks for your comments… I had a look at your blog too 🙂 Sounds like we’ve had similar banking dramas. Enjoy your time in France!

Leave a Reply

