Déjà vu

Here I am, back to stripping wallpaper! The main bedroom downstairs this time. I hesitated to start, seeing that the lounge took me so long to do, and it’s only a matter of weeks before our house guests arrive.

The other thing holding me back was the papered ceiling. If they papered it surely it’s in worse condition than the lounge? Scary thought. No option just to paint over it – that had already been done and anyway the joins were visible and it had bubbled along the cracks that it was trying to disguise.

I started by dry-stripping all the walls while I contemplated how to tackle the ceiling. Thankfully only one layer of paper!

I bravely peeled back a corner of the ceiling paper to assess the condition… aha, better than the lounge, and most came off easily, the paint giving it more strength to pull off in large pieces. Good call.

After dry-stripping I worked slowly around the room, first thoroughly wetting, then scrapping away the remaining wallpaper (being careful to lay the scraper as flat as possible to avoid gouging the wall), then immediately washing down with the sugar soap, scrubbing and rinsing off, section by section. The ceiling was still hard work as the bits of paper left were really stuck hard, but I am almost finished!

Hope that bright green undercoat is easy to paint over!

A la prochaine

About frenchfry36

South African by birth, British by right, Australian by oath, French by choice.
This entry was posted in France, Renovating in France and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Déjà vu

  1. Sarah says:

    I don’t think I would be able to strip all that wallpaper!! So much patience and detemination required!!!! Great job mum 🙂

Leave a Reply

